Posted in 2023, 52 Weeks Later, Age of Sigmar, Board games, Games Workshop, Middle-Earth, Miniatures games, Strategy games, Team games, Tournament, Wargames, Warhammer

52 weeks later: So what did happen in 2023?

So, it turns out I found my hobby limit in 2023 and something needed to give, and what gave was the website and blogging.

So, with all the not writing I did in 2023 what did I get up to?

I painted. A lot (well a lot for me). Painting is my least favourite part of the hobby, so I generally use upcoming events to drive myself to paint (flash fact; I’m currently writing this blog while I procrastinate painting the final models I need for an event this weekend). In 2023 I painted a total of 120 models, including two new armies, and also rebased an additional 130 Goblin-town models. All this was a far cry from the 26 models I painted in 2022 .

I played 64 individual games across 8 games/rulesets. 53 of those games were Middle-earth Strategy Battle Game (MSEBG) which were played across a range of singles, doubles, and scenario/narrative play.

I attended seven MESBG events, including a couple of local one-day events. It’s been great to see the local community grow over the last two years to the point where we have small one-day events and I look forward to those continuing. I also ran two events for the New Zealand Middle-earth League, including my long planned magic themed event which incorporated the Wizards’ Duel mini-game.

In 2023 I set myself a target to win 50% of my MESBG games and I most certainly didn’t lose more than 50% of my games.

Singles games that is, which is what I intended to set my 50% target for but didn’t actually articulate. While I’m not dismayed at the outcome I’m not happy either, so I’m going to aim for a 50% win rate again for 2024 (MESBG singles games), so lets see how I go on round two (I’ve already lost 5 out of 6 games this year, so I’ve got some climbing to do).

I did have some awesome games throughout the year though, and while I didn’t blog as much as I have in previous years I did always take notes and pictures. As such I’d like to wrap up this blog with a few of my favourite games from 2023.

Goblin-town vs Jeremy’s Rangers of Ithilien

After deployment my Gollum was on the opposite side of the board from his Smeagol and the Hobbits. With a chuckle in his voice Jeremy said it would be pretty funny if Gollum made his way over to the hobbits to get the ring back.

As my Gollum didn’t have the One Ring (Frodo being on the board in Jeremy’s army) there really wasn’t a lot he could contribute to the main combat that a billionty goblins weren’t already, so I started Gollum on his epic quest.

Avoiding the swirling melees across the width of the board, Gollum made his way across the board to the building where Frodo, Sam, and Smeagol were. The nearby Goblin swarms distracted the rangers (killing them counts as distracting, right?) allowing Gollum to get into combat with Sam, who he bested and killed.

The following turn, in one of the most cinematic moments of my MESBG gaming history, Gollum called a heroic combat killed Smeagol and then moved into combat with Frodo, getting the killing blow and claiming the Precious! (I also won the game, but at that point that was a secondary consideration).

Goblin-town vs Paddy’s Beornings

My second game that same day was against a Beornings Legendary Legion, where my 69 goblins went up against a handful of Beorning warriors and the two skin changers (i.e. Bears).

In a game of Fog of War where I was broken relatively quickly (bears fight good) I managed to stay in the game long enough to wear down the bears, win some key combats, pass some key courage tests and pull out an unlikely win.

Here’s slideshow showing the progression of the Battle for the Hill. In the final picture you’ll note a goblin warrior just poking out above Grimbeorn’s head… that’s the goblin of the match having beaten Grimbeorn in combat, driving him back and, more importantly, not having to back off the terrain piece Paddy was attempting to claim.

Always a pleasure to have a game with Paddy, who always has beautifully painted armies to boot.

Dune

Minitrol had been keen to get us playing Dune for a while, and one night the stars aligned. I took the role of Harkonnen, as befits my generally aggressive/horde style of gameplay. Following the game provided notes that I was at a better position in the early game than others I launched an aggressive and expansionist push quite early to try and get a quick win.

When that stalled I promptly started playing devil’s advocate and sowing some discord at the table, while currying a bit of good favour with Allonaire who was playing Atreides. When the opportunity came up for an alliance, Alllionare took it and from there it was a matter of getting ourselves into a winning position to consolidate our power.

I consider myself lucky Allonaire didn’t get the opportunity to break the alliance, as he was certainly in the better position of the two of us and could probably have backed himself to ditch me and get the solo win.

“Floorhammer”

A team from Dunedin travelled to Wellington to attend the annual Battle of Five Regions event for the NZ Middle-earth League. While the event itself was a great amount of fun, the most memorable game of the trip was on the night we arrived in Wellington. Due to some glue failure and #LifeStuff which came up during the week Minitrol had submitted a new army for the event just days prior and wanted to give it a test run. We set about raiding the motel unit for items to use as terrain and played a game of “Floorhammer”.

Minitrol won the game, but it was great for the laughs, casual vibe, and the fond memories of 2nd edition Warhammer 40,000 games on my lounge floor from our teenage years.

The Battle for New Years Eve

And it wouldn’t be a year at 52Weeks52Games without the traditional Battle of New Year’s Eve, which this year saw Minitrol, Allonaire, and I battling it out in a three player Triumph and Treachery game of Age of Sigmar.

For the first time since January I got the Slaaneshi Salesgirls out of storage and faced them against Allonaire’s Lumineth Realmlords and Minitrol’s Flesh Eater Courts. With a mix of rules ranging all the way back to first edition Age of Sigmar Realmgate rules (circa 2015) we happily rolled dice and caught up. I think gaming was the winner on the day… or friendship… or Minitrol. They’re certainly not mutually exclusive winners.

Leave a comment